Old  December 21st, 1999, 11:10am     #1
fishey
Junior Sweeper
Founding Member

Hi everyone! I'm new to sweepstaking (reformed bingo player) and I'm hooked already! But I found out very quickly that it stinks to be a resident of FL. I'm planning to write my congressman to find out why the sweepstakes laws in FL are so strict.

Anyway... hope I win something soon!

Great site!

Cheryl
  Old  December 21st, 1999, 11:27am     #2
khill
Senior Sweeper
Founding Member

Well, Mare, now's your chance to sound off!

------------------
Kay

Old  December 21st, 1999, 7:04pm     #3
Mare
Grand Master Sweeper
Founding Member
Senior Moderator
SuperGroovy

Dear Cheryl,
Welcome to the wonderful world of being "void in Florida!" Before you write your congressman, which is a great idea, there is a very interesting article on why things are the way they are in this state. Go to http://www.ask.com and type in "where can I find sweepstakes in Florida?" Hit "ask" and on the results page look under "web resources." The first match under About.com is "Florida Sweeps Law Unfunded - Contesting and Sweepstakes. Go to that page and read why Florida is always left out. (I couldn't just type the web address because it's a million characters long.)
You can thank Kay for being the one who originally found this article while she was looking for "Texas only" sweeps.
Good Luck!
Mare
PS-I posted the article in the next post, so you don't have to go through all that if you don't want to!

[This message has been edited by Mare (edited 12-21-1999).]
  Old  December 21st, 1999, 7:06pm     #4
Mare
Grand Master Sweeper
Founding Member
Senior Moderator
SuperGroovy

Cheryl,
I just cut and pasted the article for you. I don't know why I didn't just think of that first!

Dateline: 07/13/98

You've heard the buzz...Florida sweeps law has changed! Floridians can enter all those sweeps denied them!

Hold on there. Not quite.