Old  January 29th, 2010, 10:27pm     #1
*Harriett*
Senior Master Sweeper

Tax Help: My employer did not take out Federal taxes in 2009.
i guess this is not really a vent, just trying to figure out what is going on.

To make a long story short.... I found a job in September, it does not pay much, but I am thankful for it. The boss is a real slacker though. He his a franchise owner of a few different stores.

Any way, I had mentioned to another employee today that there were no Federal taxes being taken from my paycheck. (I just assumed that it could have been because I was married, (I am a newly wed and this is my first time claiming married jointly). But as I spoke with other employees, he did not take out any on them either. One person was not even getting State taxes with held.

So I keep speaking with tax professionals, and I found out that, yes, he is suppose to take out Federal and State taxes.

When we brought this to his attention. He basically acted a A** and pretty much told us that it was our fault, based on what we claimed. But I know better than that. I thought that you are suppose to take out taxes regardless.

Anyone had a problem like this. I am thinking that this is illegal. Is there a tax benefit? What do you do if he refuses to correct this.

FYI
-No I am not a contract employer
-I am only claiming "1", It shows this on my check.
-I am not filing exempt
-I did receive a W-2 with nothing in the Federal Tax Box
-I am not an Independent Contractor

Old  January 29th, 2010, 10:42pm     #2
julis55
Sweeper

Report him to the IRS. They have a 1800 number and an email where you can file complaints. Otherwise you will have to pay all of this 2009 tax witholding yourself. And you don't want to do this.
  Old  January 29th, 2010, 10:45pm     #3
Sweethart79
Grand Master Sweeper

Quote:
Originally Posted by julis55 View Post