Old  December 20th, 2008, 2:24pm     #1
greeny1232 is offline
Junior Sweeper

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
Location: Janesville Wisconsin
Walmart™ $1000 Gift Card Confirmation #741896z-741r‏ is this a fake?
Is this a real email or if I click on it will it infect my computer?

Walmart™ $1000 Gift Card Confirmation #741896z-741r‏
From: Walmart Customer Service (LenardQuick@husis.meliphagan.net)
You may not know this sender.Mark as safe|Mark as unsafe
Sent: Fri 12/19/08 1:02 PM
To: peanut1232_backups@hotmail.com

Dear peanut1232_backups@hotmail.com,You have been chosen to recieve a $1000 Walmart Shopping Card. http://www.ultragaseous.net/walmart/ Thank You,Customer Service Center #741506#896

I'm questioning because first receive isn't spelled right and I don't recall entering a sweep from walmart. I'm a newbie here so not sure what the email should say if it was legit.

Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 2:30pm     #2
MookieJ is offline
Senior Master Sweeper
MookieJ's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,530
Location: Ain’t No Party Like a Scranton Party
fake sorry
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 2:32pm     #3
SFOSTER284 is offline

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 120
Agreed- it is a fake...a marketing come on...
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 2:38pm     #4
carenyllie is offline
Master Sweeper

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,925
Location: Copperas Cove, TX
I get those every day it seems like. You will start to also probably.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 2:48pm     #5
triple*eee is offline
Grand Master Sweeper
triple*eee's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 14,784
Location: Missouri
Yep a fake. I get those emails all the time.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 2:58pm     #6
captain_kirk24 is offline
Master Sweeper
captain_kirk24's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,627
Location: Wisconsin
A Walmart Customer Service rep would not be sending an email from the domain husis.meliphagan.net.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 3:03pm     #7
RockysJewel is offline
Grand Master Sweeper
RockysJewel's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 41,898
Location: Pacific NW
YUp a mail. If you are sweeping now be prepared to receive a lot of 'ofers' like that. Disapointing at first and then you will get used to it.


I am not Rocky . I am ~JEWEL~
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 3:04pm     #8
russstrikesagain is online now
Master Sweeper
russstrikesagain's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,681
Location: Sunny San Diego
The from address - LenardQuick@husis.meliphagan.net is definitely not a walmart or fulfillment company email address.

The link in the email http://www.ultragaseous.net/walmart/ is certainly not legit. Ultragaseous - what the heck is that about??
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 3:31pm     #9
flared0ne is offline
Grand Master Sweeper
flared0ne's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 15,569
Location: Central Florida, North of Mouse land
Cool Need to be careful (but then I'm hoping you already know this)...
In most cases, ALL they want is for you to go to their site to "see what is going on".

Once you are there, their webpage will be loaded with a whole series of different "exploits" to try and take over your PC -- again, in most cases, things that Microsoft and anti-virus companies know about, but that YOUR system is still vulnerable to if you haven't applied all the security update patchs that Microsoft issues.

There are quite a few things that can "bite" just by going to their website -- gods forbid that you should CLICK anything while you're there -- ANYthing at all. Don't do it. Don't even GO there.

A lot of people seem to like web-based email, since they can retrieve their messages from anywhere -- the problem is, most browser-based email retrieval doesn't have any option to allow you to "preview" the message without actually opening it up.

In Outlook Express, for example, you can right-click and then click "Properties" of an email message, and take a look at its header information and a text-based window into its contents. But anything which actually executes the HTML code in an email message leaves you completely vulnerable to a LOT of stuff.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 3:35pm     #10
cs0kalom is offline
Junior Sweeper
cs0kalom's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Location: Tennessee
I've also seen one come from Applebees that's kind of the same thing.

There's a great website where you can check on these things - it's www.snopes.com

Best wishes.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 8:18pm     #11
Alexandrea is offline
Master Sweeper
Alexandrea's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,835
Location: Seattle
These guys are cheesing me off...I got 3 of them yesterday as well as some other fake wins from another similar meliphagen email, then several today. I'm pretty mad at whatever I entered this week that gave my email to this spammer.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 20th, 2008, 9:26pm     #12
paints is offline
Senior Sweeper

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 796
Location: Los Osos, CA
I get dozens of these a day, variations on that theme.
Each time I have had a legitimate win, the person who contacted me by email identified themselves very clearly, and mentioned the contest involved. If a response was needed, it was an email reply, not a website link.

Bark Less...Wag More!
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13pm.