Old  January 18th, 2008, 7:54pm     #1
debee2000
Senior Sweeper

After sending Resume, do I follow-up with a Call?
OK, I have sent over 20 resumes, via mail, email and faxes. This I started january 4th. I have only gotten one interview and probably not the job (cause she said she would know by the end of this week and here it is almost 8pm on a Friday night).

I can't decide if I should follow-up with a call to check up on interviews? And if so, how would you do that? Its half and half from what I see online, whether it helps to call and check on status of the position.

Please help, I'm so need to get out of this house and get to know others (can u tell I am lonely!)

btw, my background is admin. assistant/customer service, accounting

thanks!

Debbie in SC
  Old  January 18th, 2008, 9:03pm     #2
Txsweeper
Grand Master Sweeper

Personally I wouldn't, my thought is if they were interested in me, they would have called.

I will tell you that I have gotten more than one job by going to the place of business and asking for the HR representative and then handing them my resume. Twice that I have done this, I have landed an immediate interview and was hired for both jobs on the spot. Heck one of them I started that same day following my interview.

As you slide down the banister of life, may
the splinters never point the wrong way.
  Old  January 18th, 2008, 9:13pm     #3
nettester
Master Sweeper