Old  March 19th, 2005, 6:53pm     #1
sk78 is offline
sk78
Sweeper
 
sk78's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 118
Location: kentucky
Question Phone Number Dashes or not?
When just a box is provided on an entry form for your phone number, do you include dashes or not?
I've been putting in the dashes if space is provided, I'm kinda anal that way.I hope I haven't messed up about a zillion entry forms doing this.

What does the OLS peanut gallery have to say?

Last edited by sk78; March 19th, 2005 at 6:53pm. Reason: typo

If you can't be a good example, you'll just have to be a terrible warning.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 19th, 2005, 7:07pm     #2
Lavish304 is offline
Lavish304
Senior Master Sweeper
 
Lavish304's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,303
Location: Alberta, Canada
I must say a do agree with you!!!
Anal or not!!!
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 19th, 2005, 7:28pm     #3
tsunrisebey is offline
tsunrisebey
Senior Sweeper
 
tsunrisebey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 558
Location: Beautiful Montana
I've always put the dashes in unless it said numbers only.

Reply With Quote
  Old  March 20th, 2005, 2:24pm     #4
stinger is offline
stinger
Gone Camping

 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 994
Unless it shows a format such as XXX-XXX-XXXX or specifies how it should be entered I don't think it really matters
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 20th, 2005, 2:36pm     #5
cgg101 is offline
cgg101
Sweeper
 
cgg101's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 221
Location: SF Bay Area
I have put the dashes in as well.

"California Grown Gal"


2005 Wins: Keebler magnetic cookie clip and bag of cookies; Fandango movie tickets; 3 iTunes; Cranium game; Elizabethtown poster and t-shirt.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 20th, 2005, 2:55pm     #6
Claudesnb is offline
Claudesnb
Master Sweeper
 
Claudesnb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,254
Location: California
I use Roboform and I think it puts the dashes in.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 20th, 2005, 3:02pm     #7
luckylady1744 is offline
luckylady1744
Master Sweeper
 
luckylady1744's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,333
Location: Toledo, Ohio
I usually put the dashes in too, unless it says differently. Good luck and I hope you haven't been DQ'd for your obsession! LOL
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 20th, 2005, 3:22pm     #8
newbeginnings08 is offline
newbeginnings08
Master Sweeper
 
newbeginnings08's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,623
Location: below sea level for now
Yes
I'm a dash girl myself!
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 20th, 2005, 3:33pm     #9
gcomstock is offline
gcomstock
Grand Master Sweeper
Founding Member
 
gcomstock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 13,135
Location: Tustin, California
This question / issue falls into the huge category of "it depends or varies" or "stuff we just don't usually know." I always use XXX-XXX-XXXX as a default.

Unless the entry form makes it very clear how they want it formatted, the only way we know if we perhaps formatted incorrectly is if we get an error message. Many, many times in the past various sweeps have been driving people nuts with non-specific database error messages...dozens of people griping in the notes. Then somebody would say "try it with no spaces or dashes (or spaces / no dashes) and it works." Everyone would go "a-ha!" and submit successfully.

Similarly, we've seen many sweeps with bewildering error messages that somebody figured out could be solved by using no abbreviations or punctuation in your address (eg. use Avenue instead of Ave., or Number instead of #). But if there is no error message, who knows?

Many other sweeps are programmed NOT to display database error messages on the front end (eg the screen we see). They will glibly serve up a jolly "Thank you, your entry has been submitted" whether your info is complete, correct or not. Single entry sweeps that say "thanks" no matter how many times you enter. What we often don't know...is if those "apparently acceptable" entries will be culled out when the final database is dumped and winners selected. Heck, there are entry forms out there for contests expired over one year ago, where folks have already posted "I won" in the Winners Circle, and those forms will still say "thank you, your information has been submitted" LOL.

Best I can say is...pay attention. Most Sony sweeps want all numbers, no spaces (but not all). ETOnline sweeps seem to convert my XXX-XXX-XXXX numbers into a (XXX) XXX-XXXX format in that split second after I click submit (along with emptying the state field). But what we "see" is not necessarily what they "get."

The XXX-XXX-XXXX format is probably the most generic and widely used for USA phone numbers. When I google phone numbers I always use that format...but if I don't get any results I'll also try the parenthesis version which sometimes yield different results.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 21st, 2005, 11:41am     #10
doctorstrangelove is offline
doctorstrangelove
Master Sweeper
 
doctorstrangelove's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,140
Location: Sonoma County, CA
like grandma's underwear--it Depends...

There is no instance of a nation benefiting from prolonged warfare.
- Sun Tzu
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 24th, 2005, 6:25pm     #11
sk78 is offline
sk78
Sweeper
 
sk78's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 118
Location: kentucky
Thank you all for your replies and input. I am glad to know I'm not the only one. This was the last thing I had to cross off my "What am I doing wrong?" check list. Now I know if i don't start winning some goodies it's not because I've been DQing myself, it's just that I'm unlucky.

If you can't be a good example, you'll just have to be a terrible warning.
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 15th, 2005, 6:30pm     #12
core_17 is offline
core_17
Senior Master Sweeper
 
core_17's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,617
Location: Illinois
Haha...I must be a weird one, cuz if I don't have to put the dashes in, I don't. I've worked retail for 5 years, and I can work the number pad in my sleep...I can do it a lot faster if I leave the dashes out.

"If you like it you should be able to put a ring on it." -Beyonce
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 6:21am.