Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  Old  August 21st, 2004, 10:42pm     #1
sweepsfreak is offline
sweepsfreak
Master Sweeper
 
sweepsfreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,415
Location: American by birth, Texan by the grace of God
Question Question about spybot
I have a question about spybot. I have the newest version of it on my computer, I know I just downloaded it again tonight. My question is, is this version a piece of junk? With the older versions it seemed to always pick up all the bad stuff on my computer. Now, it might get one or two files. But mostly, it's congratulations, you have no immediate threats. Yet, I'll run the new adaware SE or spysweeper (love it) and they will both catch at least 15 - 20 files. Has anyone else found this to be true for them?
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 21st, 2004, 10:56pm     #2
goodlass is offline
goodlass
Master Sweeper
 
goodlass's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,327
Location: War Eagle Country
Yes, in fact only today did I find it to be true. I am not sure what exactly spybot has managed to do for my computer. Am I mistaken in thinking that spybot is supposed to block adware from downloading onto my computer?

If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 21st, 2004, 10:57pm     #3
DebiLyn is offline
DebiLyn
Master Sweeper
 
DebiLyn's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,356
Location: Chapin, SC
I keep Spy Sweeper running all the time. It is the best thing I've found. Adware is good I use it too but I prefer Sweeper. Try looking at www.komando.com - she has some great advise about spyware.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 21st, 2004, 11:48pm     #4
another is offline
another
Senior Sweeper
 
another's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Missouri
I use spybot s&d 1.3 and spyblaster 3.2 (these block stuff from getting in)

I also use adawareSE(free vesion) however it does NOT block, only finds

but you can use what adaware finds (like tracking cookies)
(read the info in the cookie) (ie click2net.com)

by adding them to your "internet options privacy" block list (under edit)

since doing this adawareSE finds nothing

finding nothing (if your protection is updated) is a GOOD sign.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 12:02am     #5
mechurchlady is offline
mechurchlady
Gone Camping
 
mechurchlady's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,299
Location: I am an OLS Citizen from Norwalk, California where there are lots of nuts.
I did get a notice from Spybot that I had spyware. It is just that it is very good with picking things up. You almost need two anti-spyware and 2 antiviral programs.
I have recently use housescan, McAfee and Spybot. I am getting few popups other than the ones tied to a company like Self Magazine. I have had in 8 hours with no popup blocker on about 6 to 10 bad popups. I remember getting one a minute.

No program is perfect, especially with 63,000+ viruses (McAfee is my source). Can you imagine the size of a program that searched for all of those viruses. McAfee has a calendar that lists what viruses might be appearing on a given date.

Good luck and keep aa vigilent eye on your computer.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 1:21am     #6
yadgirl is offline
yadgirl
Senior Master Sweeper
Deep Ends
 
yadgirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 18,617
If you delete cookies on a regular basis, you delete most all spyware before SpyBot finds it.

yad

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v338/SosaLover/FREEval6/bunny.gif

Squirrel Butts Do Not Glow.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 8:56am     #7
gregisme56 is offline
gregisme56
Master Sweeper
 
gregisme56's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,505
Location: Down the road a piece
Spybot
Strange, I always found Spybot to be the best . I keep up on the updates and I have 1.3. I run it everyday after entering sweeps and it finds around 20 files. DSO Exploit shows up even after a Spybot delete. It is a hole in windows security, which is supposed to be harmless if Windows Updates are up-to-date. You can exclude stuff by right clicking on the dataset in the deletion list and adding it to the exclude list. I had to do it for GoldenPalace.com. I also use Ad-Aware and Registry Mechanic which sometimes finds things Spybot doesn't.

Last edited by gregisme56; August 23rd, 2004 at 7:59pm. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 9:04am     #8
Angel_Eyes16 is offline
Angel_Eyes16
Senior Sweeper
 
Angel_Eyes16's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 458
Location: Alton, My personal 7th Circle Of Hell.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweepsfreak
I have a question about spybot. I have the newest version of it on my computer, I know I just downloaded it again tonight. My question is, is this version a piece of junk? With the older versions it seemed to always pick up all the bad stuff on my computer. Now, it might get one or two files. But mostly, it's congratulations, you have no immediate threats. Yet, I'll run the new adaware SE or spysweeper (love it) and they will both catch at least 15 - 20 files. Has anyone else found this to be true for them?
dunno bout that i never have to deal with spybot

.`){Live.x. .x.AND Let.x. .x.DIE}(`.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 9:08am     #9
jaybat is offline
jaybat
Master Sweeper
 
jaybat's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,080
Location: AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweepsfreak
I have a question about spybot. I have the newest version of it on my computer, I know I just downloaded it again tonight. My question is, is this version a piece of junk? With the older versions it seemed to always pick up all the bad stuff on my computer. Now, it might get one or two files. But mostly, it's congratulations, you have no immediate threats. Yet, I'll run the new adaware SE or spysweeper (love it) and they will both catch at least 15 - 20 files. Has anyone else found this to be true for them?
Mostly what Ad-aware gets for me is cookies and maybe Spybot isn't so concerned with them (cookies aren't that big a deal).

On the other hand ownership changes, management changes, goals change - it's always possible Spybot is accepting money to NOT report certain spyware (there are a LOT of anti-spyware apps out there that do that - usually sold through popup ads).
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 9:14am     #10
jcountry is offline
jcountry
Sweeper
 
jcountry's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 194
Location: North Carolina
I used to have Spybot. I would do the updates.

When I first downloaded it was finding like 20-30 threats every check.

Then like you said it started telling me I had 0 threats.

I haven't a clue about why it quit finding the threats. Anyway we reformatted and I don't have it anymore.

Good luck...


jcountry
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 9:26am     #11
SSquared1980 is offline
SSquared1980
Master Sweeper
 
SSquared1980's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,353
Location: Central Virginia
If you enabled the immunize feature in Spybot S&D - Spybot will not find any spyware on your PC. Spybot is blocking all of it. Just update every once in a while and you are protected. I have mine PC set that way. I also run Ad-Aware when I finish online. It always finds a few that Spybot missed. Spybot and Ad-Aware have different definition files. There is some overlap but they are not the same. Also, if you have multiple profiles in Windows XP - you must run spybot and Ad-Aware in every profile. Spyware is profile specific. Even if you run it in the Administrator profile it does not clear it from the entire machine. You have to scan each profile.

If you run 2 anti-virus programs at the same time - they are cancelling each other out. I am a Support Tech in IT at a private college and this seems to be a common problem. Folks think they are double protected but they aren't protected at all.

I know this is confusing, it was for me when we 1st started working with XP. PM me and I'll try to help.

Congrats to all the winners I missed!
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 3:22pm     #12
yadgirl is offline
yadgirl
Senior Master Sweeper
Deep Ends
 
yadgirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 18,617
I have the immunize feature enabled, but once I delete those cookies and enter a few more sweeps, Spybot finds those cookies again the next time I run it.

Why is that?

BTW, I found the DSO exploit "cure" here:
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/rema...flat~days=9999

yad

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v338/SosaLover/FREEval6/bunny.gif

Squirrel Butts Do Not Glow.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 3:43pm     #13
another is offline
another
Senior Sweeper
 
another's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 650
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by yadgirl
I have the immunize feature enabled, but once I delete those cookies and enter a few more sweeps, Spybot finds those cookies again the next time I run it.

Why is that?

yad
cookies are easy to block

read the "info" in the cookie that you want to block
(cookies are text files which you can open and read)

find the site address in that cookie (ie click2net.com )

then add them to your block list

under internet options

privacy tab

click edit and add that address to "always block"

Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 4:01pm     #14
sunshine92627 is offline
sunshine92627
Senior Sweeper
 
sunshine92627's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 487
Location: Lake Forest
I ran into a problem with spy bot yesterday. It deleted my robo form. Yesterday after i ran spybot it stated that it needed to run at start up to get rid something it couldn't access. I went to go use robo form and nothing would happen I thought that was weird but it was late and I shut of my pc. This morning it ran and robo form is what it was try to get rid of. I had to reinstall robo form And I lost all my info. Is robo form a spyware? I've had it for years with no problem. Whay all of a sudden does it think its a spyware. I've also had Spybot on my pc for about a year. Its really has me stumped on this one. any insite would be great.
Thanks, Karen
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 22nd, 2004, 7:13pm     #15
yadgirl is offline
yadgirl
Senior Master Sweeper
Deep Ends
 
yadgirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 18,617
Spybot makes backups of everything before it removes anything. I'd check my SpyBot backup files.

Roboform is not spyware.

yad

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v338/SosaLover/FREEval6/bunny.gif

Squirrel Butts Do Not Glow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11am.