Old  August 27th, 2017, 9:46pm     #1
bomar97 is offline
bomar97
Grand Master Sweeper
 
bomar97's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 20,310
Location: Upper Central/Lower Northern/sometimes Downeast ME
routers
What is the newest in routers and is it better than what I have?

Mine: (based on IEEE 802.11n draft specification); IEEE 802.11a/b/g compatible

Basically, we only have 4 mb internet service.. so speed isn't there.. and can get connected everywhere in the house, but the Roku stick says it has a weak signal.

Earn cash back while shopping with ebates - my referral https://www.ebates.com/r/BOMER92
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 27th, 2017, 10:14pm     #2
russstrikesagain is offline
russstrikesagain
Master Sweeper
 
russstrikesagain's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,632
Location: Sunny San Diego
ac is the current standard and the fastest routers
802.11ac
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 28th, 2017, 8:37am     #3
bomar97 is offline
bomar97
Grand Master Sweeper
 
bomar97's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 20,310
Location: Upper Central/Lower Northern/sometimes Downeast ME
I see they also allow for more range.. I'd like to get connection to the barn so when we need to do repairs and relying on you-tube videos we can get it out there. Right now we fall short. I was going to try to move our router out into the loft ( which would have been done earlier, but we have to reconnect a wire our lovely ISP repair guy took off all our phone jacks except for the one our modem is currently connected in ) and we've been too lazy to take the time to do it.

If the ac could reach w/o moving everything it would be great! ( not just because of the wire, but the modem/router/printer/desk set-up fits much better where it is. )

Earn cash back while shopping with ebates - my referral https://www.ebates.com/r/BOMER92
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 28th, 2017, 8:00pm     #4
russstrikesagain is offline
russstrikesagain
Master Sweeper
 
russstrikesagain's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,632
Location: Sunny San Diego
The range on our ac router is definitely further than our n router was, but in California you live on a postage stamp so the distances are not huge for us.
Reply With Quote
  Old  August 29th, 2017, 8:43am     #5
bomar97 is offline
bomar97
Grand Master Sweeper
 
bomar97's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 20,310
Location: Upper Central/Lower Northern/sometimes Downeast ME
I need about 135 feet .. not sure if anything will do that.

Earn cash back while shopping with ebates - my referral https://www.ebates.com/r/BOMER92
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23pm.