Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  Old  March 24th, 2018, 3:21pm     #16
tlmazek is offline
tlmazek
Senior Sweeper
 
tlmazek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 460
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by deborah62 View Post
Can you use Roku on a regular tv?
You mean a Dumb (as opposed to Smart) tv? YES, as long as it has a USB port.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 24th, 2018, 5:04pm     #17
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
well, I see 2 of you are paying more than I am. I'm at $147/mo. for hd couple hundred channels and high speed internet. I box, but others can log in on computers for all the tv.
No phone or extra sports channels.

My kid told me to check out the hulu site. You get more stuff, but it costs twice as much as sling, and the add-ons are more. Someday soon I'm going to check out the 7 day free trial on sling and see if my current internet can bear the weight and if there is anything I would miss.

I'm so excited!

It would be down to something like $70! That would be keeping the best tier of Comcast internet. I haven't heard of anything better here.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 24th, 2018, 5:37pm     #18
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by deborah62 View Post
Can you use Roku on a regular tv?
Yes I've had one for years. My husband bought it thinking it was something else. You get a little palm-sized platform and a remote and a wire. You pay for the device and that's it. Accesses both free and stuff you have to pay for.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 26th, 2018, 6:13am     #19
mcclave is offline
mcclave
Grand Master Sweeper
 
mcclave's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 31,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by deborah62 View Post
Can you use Roku on a regular tv?
Yes the Roku1 is for regular tv's. No USB port required. It comes with a small converter and a remote. It plugs into the tv with the standard red,white and yellow set of wires. I have one and it works great.

Reply With Quote
  Old  March 26th, 2018, 3:02pm     #20
tlmazek is offline
tlmazek
Senior Sweeper
 
tlmazek's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 460
Location: Florida
Here are the various versions of Roku with specs

https://www.roku.com/products/compare
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 27th, 2018, 5:54am     #21
mcclave is offline
mcclave
Grand Master Sweeper
 
mcclave's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 31,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlmazek View Post
Here are the various versions of Roku with specs

https://www.roku.com/products/compare
Thanks I was looking for something like this but it had the Roku1 listed. Couldn't find it but it looks like the Roku Express is the same thing as the Roku1 but a lot cheaper. The tv I had is a big screen but we bought it right before the lighter flat screens came out so it's one of those huge, heavy tv's. Just the same it wasn't that old so paying the $60 for the roku made more sense to me than throwing the tv away and buying a new one.

I have had it hooked up for over 2 years and all is still working just fine.

deborah62 Lot's of good info here.

Reply With Quote
  Old  March 28th, 2018, 2:12pm     #22
nightt is offline
nightt
Senior Sweeper
 
nightt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 957
Location: Ohio
For anyone who has cable....they do raise your rates every year. You have to call them and tell them you cannot pay these prices. They will change your rate especially if you are ready to leave them. The new rate is usually good for a year.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 28th, 2018, 3:02pm     #23
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightt View Post
For anyone who has cable....they do raise your rates every year. You have to call them and tell them you cannot pay these prices. They will change your rate especially if you are ready to leave them. The new rate is usually good for a year.
yes, I do that and it still gets higher even with the concessions. I think at this point I am paying to make up for all the ex-customers who wised up and left.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 29th, 2018, 11:13am     #24
sallykay is offline
sallykay
Grand Master Sweeper
 
sallykay's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 17,159
Location: Montana
Keep in mind that internet prices seem to be going up, and streaming uses that! Our phone company recently changed to "wide open internet", which was was supposed to be less--we were paying $45 a month--now, it has a minimum, and if you go over, it's way more--internet TOTAL was $150 this month--boys use Netflix and streaming a lot, too, and we also have our DISH, which my husband and I love. They also watch that.

When we're free to love anyone we choose
When this world's big enough for all different views
When we all can worship from our own kind of pew
Then we shall be free; We shall be free -- GARTH BROOKS
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 29th, 2018, 11:33am     #25
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by sallykay View Post
Keep in mind that internet prices seem to be going up, and streaming uses that! Our phone company recently changed to "wide open internet", which was was supposed to be less--we were paying $45 a month--now, it has a minimum, and if you go over, it's way more--internet TOTAL was $150 this month--boys use Netflix and streaming a lot, too, and we also have our DISH, which my husband and I love. They also watch that.
I didn't realize you could get charged extra for more streaming. I was expecting a flat fee. Right now, it's in a bundle with the TV. Before I do cut the cord, I want to try the free trial to see if Comcast or Verizon would be better, and if they would be able to stream my tv without a lot of pixelating and whatnot.
Reply With Quote
  Old  April 11th, 2018, 2:22pm     #26
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
I DID IT!!!
I cut the cord!
I'm getting Sling Blue for $25/mo. for up to 3 devices, kept the internet with Comcast. I'm getting 25mbps for $50/mo. If that's not enough, the next step up will be $70/mo. I'm so happy I feel like I've lost 100 pounds! ($147/mo. and on demand and high def not working half the time!)

The only bad part is now I need to get my tv hooked up to the good sound, a Sony sound system I won on here about 2008 or so. It will take some time because the sockets for the wires are in the back of the TV and the TV is wall-mounted. My kid came over the other night to set me up with Sling, and he didn't want to get into that project that late. So I am stuck with crummy TV speakers until he decides to do it.

But I'm so happy!
Reply With Quote
  Old  April 11th, 2018, 6:02pm     #27
Qncterra is offline
Qncterra
Senior Master Sweeper
 
Qncterra's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,535
Location: West Central Florida
I had Brighthouse since I bought the house in June 2000 and was at $115/month (phone, internet and cable) when Spectrum took over from Brighthouse in August 2016. They said I was on a four part promo offer and raised my rate three times in 2017.

Last October, they said that the next increase in April 2018 would take me to $174/month. I immediately called Frontier, which was overcoming a rocky takeover of Verizon FIOS. Frontier was having a promo, so for $123, I have 2 years no contract phone, internet, cable, DVR and two years free HBO.
Reply With Quote
  Old  April 11th, 2018, 6:27pm     #28
bomar97 is offline
bomar97
Grand Master Sweeper
 
bomar97's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 21,110
Location: Upper Central/Lower Northern/sometimes Downeast ME
I wish I had so many choices as others seem to have!!

4 mbps for $46 + and that's bundled with phone ( DSL is all that's available other than satellite ).

One company to choose from... no cable around.

The only tv has to be satellite.

I tried streaming and wasn't happy with what came of it with the hiccups in our internet plus slow speed.

Earn cash back while shopping with ebates - my referral https://www.ebates.com/r/BOMER92
Reply With Quote
  Old  April 11th, 2018, 9:56pm     #29
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by bomar97 View Post
I wish I had so many choices as others seem to have!!

4 mbps for $46 + and that's bundled with phone ( DSL is all that's available other than satellite ).

One company to choose from... no cable around.

The only tv has to be satellite.

I tried streaming and wasn't happy with what came of it with the hiccups in our internet plus slow speed.
I'm sorry to hear that. I've read that our internet service is something else that needs to catch up with the rest of the world.
Reply With Quote
  Old  April 12th, 2018, 1:46pm     #30
plazamama is offline
plazamama
Senior Master Sweeper
 
plazamama's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 7,939
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qncterra View Post
I had Brighthouse since I bought the house in June 2000 and was at $115/month (phone, internet and cable) when Spectrum took over from Brighthouse in August 2016. They said I was on a four part promo offer and raised my rate three times in 2017.

Last October, they said that the next increase in April 2018 would take me to $174/month. I immediately called Frontier, which was overcoming a rocky takeover of Verizon FIOS. Frontier was having a promo, so for $123, I have 2 years no contract phone, internet, cable, DVR and two years free HBO.
Sweet!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23am.