Old  July 10th, 2018, 6:22pm     #1
Kashinka is offline
Kashinka
Master Sweeper
 
Kashinka's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,992
Location: Maryland
Roboform: Forgotten Master Password
I'm trying to set up Roboform on a new PC, but I forgot my master password. The Robo site says there should be a passcard for it, but there isn't. The only Robo passcards I have are for activation.

The site says, incredibly, that there is NO PROCESS for logging in if you forget your password. You have to start anew. Uh, with over 100 passcards, I DON'T THINK SO.

I can't start a ticket because I need to log in first. WTF????

Anyone ever had this problem?
Reply With Quote
  Old  July 10th, 2018, 7:46pm     #2
Barbg18 is offline
Barbg18
Sweeper
 
Barbg18's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Yes and they were of no help! I had to start over finally. Try this and see if if you can possibly think of it. Just sit down and relax. Think back to when you first got that computer and some of your very first passwords you used. Maybe you will jog your memory or get lucky.
Reply With Quote
  Old  July 10th, 2018, 10:48pm     #3
Urlik is offline
Urlik
Master Sweeper
 
Urlik's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,531
Location: West Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kashinka View Post
The site says, incredibly, that there is NO PROCESS for logging in if you forget your password. You have to start anew. Uh, with over 100 passcards, I DON'T THINK SO.
You're out of luck. If there was a way to recover it that would leave a backdoor for hackers to take it too. This is normal for passwords used on everything. Since your roboform password was only on your local machine, it can't be recovered either.

My 2018 Wins
Reply With Quote
  Old  July 10th, 2018, 11:21pm     #4
GTBuzz is offline
GTBuzz
Grand Master Sweeper
Moderator
Princess Yellow Jacket
 
GTBuzz's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 28,073
Location: Georgia-Go GA Tech Yellow Jackets!!
I remember reading there was no way to recover it, so that worried me. I hope you can remember it. Maybe it was one that you used a lot at the time you set it up? Good luck.

LipSense & SeneGence beauty, OLS members get free shipping. PM for details.
Buzz's Trade List
Reply With Quote
  Old  July 11th, 2018, 12:30pm     #5
Kashinka is offline
Kashinka
Master Sweeper
 
Kashinka's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,992
Location: Maryland
Thanks to all who posted. There may be a glimmer of hope.

In a folder called Default Profile in my computer, there seems to be a complete list of all my passcards. Is there some way of adding this to a new Robo installation?
Reply With Quote
  Old  July 11th, 2018, 3:23pm     #6
Barbg18 is offline
Barbg18
Sweeper
 
Barbg18's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Sounds like he might have found it! Personally I will never do roboform again after my lost password fiasco. I have went back to old fashioned notebook./pen and a notepad on pc which I update daily.
Reply With Quote
  Old  July 11th, 2018, 3:41pm     #7
Rookiesmom is offline
Rookiesmom
Senior Master Sweeper
 
Rookiesmom's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,674
Location: Western North Carolina, somewhere in the mountains
I print out a copy of my Robo stuff just in case. Too much to try to track down. I wrote down my master password but It never works.

American by birth, Southern by the Grace of God.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 2:14pm.