Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  Old  December 17th, 2002, 10:27pm     #31
suelee000 is offline
suelee000
Senior Master Sweeper
 
suelee000's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,541
Location: Great Falls, Montana
I've never tried Type It In, but I love RoboForm. It remembers passwords and user names. It might miss a field once in a while, but it's great.

Odds. I've been entering internet contests since 1995 (or 1996, I'm not sure which). My winnings so far include speakers for my computer, $150 GC from Sharper Image, a few T-shirts and other assorted items.

However, last December, I started using sweeps software. I've gone from entering maybe 20 contests a day to over 125 per day. The winnings this year are small, a tagless t, pencil, candy etc. But there was that one day when 2 prizes arrived from Fed-Ex at the same time. I'm optimistic about the December prizes because there are so many of them. We'll see.

Read the winners forum. Some people have only been sweeping for a few days and weeks and already are winning things. Sometimes big stuff. It's the luck of the draw.

Happy sweeping

Sue

So many books, so little time.
Reply With Quote
  Old  December 17th, 2002, 10:42pm     #32
groovyguru is offline
groovyguru
Senior Master Sweeper

 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,297
Gator Bites
I had used the gator in the past, and while it works, it also is a time waster with all its ads and popups, etc. I recently started using Roboform in combination with online-sweepstakes.com and find that it is very fast to complete many sweeps. To save time, I will click from o-s.com 10-20 entry forms, then let them download, and switch between pages using roboform to fill them in.
Reply With Quote
  Old  January 20th, 2003, 9:40am     #33
Karen_246 is offline
Karen_246
Grand Master Sweeper
Senior Moderator/Editor
PITA
 
Karen_246's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 60,889
Location: Northern New York! I Miss You Moms!! Wanda_555777
Is roboform detectable???
Okay, I know this is a silly question - but I was wondering if it is detectable?? I looked through the FAQ's and I can't find it, though I am sure someone asked the question before. You see it quite a bit on entry forms, and I was wondering if they use a program to detect whether or not a "bot" is being used.



Thanks,


Karen
Reply With Quote
  Old  January 20th, 2003, 10:07pm     #34
Roadkillray is offline
Roadkillray
Sweeper
 
Roadkillray's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 271
now .. is that the latest free version one or the one you have to pay for ???
Reply With Quote
  Old  January 20th, 2003, 10:54pm     #35
groovyguru is offline
groovyguru
Senior Master Sweeper

 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 5,297
It is possible to infer automated entry if the system on the other end of the browser records start of transmission (date & time) to receipt of entry form (date & time), and the time is so fast that it is humanly impossible to enter in the elapsed time. I do not know if any sites do this, but it is a relatively easy thing to do on their end.

To avoid this, you just have to start several sweeps at the same time and let them load up before you use roboform to fill. Then submit by clicking the button and enough time should elapse to negate the high speed form entry detection.
Reply With Quote
  Old  January 22nd, 2003, 11:12am     #36
hwnhrt is offline
hwnhrt
Sweeper
 
hwnhrt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
Location: "the hole in the wall"....Hawaii
I don't know if this is the appropriate thread to post this question , but I've been reading the forums and have not heard anyone mention this feature yet....does anyone have the feature on their computer that remembers what you typed ?

I have a compaq 5000 us series and when I fill out entries, it remembers names, addys, ph #'s,etc. All I have to do is double cllck in the space and a drop down menu shows up with all the names or addys that need to filled in. I just chose the person I want to enter and click, it fills in the blank.

I have alot of time(please go to newbie forum for my intro)to enter sweeps and enter 10 people daily in several sweeps, lottos,etc. This feature saves me tons of time and it's free! I've read about Roboform alot and I suppose the difference is Robo fills out the whole entry. I have to manually click to fill in the blanks but I feel its just as good as robo cause I save lots of time typing and I don't need to worry if the entry will be accepted because of auto. It takes me about 10 seconds or less to fill out an entry. It's a sweepers dream! The one thing I like about it is the email address will always be correct...this feature has all the email addys listed so I can't do a typo error in that blank and miss out on a win notification !

Would like to hear from others who has this feature on their puter...
Good luck to you all and always remember to enter, enter....enter!!!!

Aloha,
hwnhrt




"just another day in paradise..."
Reply With Quote
  Old  January 22nd, 2003, 1:07pm     #37
gcomstock is offline
gcomstock
Grand Master Sweeper
Founding Member
 
gcomstock's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 13,119
Location: Tustin, California
HawaiianHeart-

Internet Explorer does have an autofill feature, which in combination with its History records, allows you to double click most any entry cell and produce a drop down containing items you've previously typed.

BUT...Roboform allows you to create separate identities, so you could actually set up "accounts" for the other folks you enter, which included their birth dates, addresses, phone numbers etc.

Also, be careful...most sites have the ability to track IP numbers (the unique number that identifies YOUR computer account) of all visitors. So make sure that, regardless of the names / addresses you enter, that you're not potentially being DQ'd. READ the individual rules to decide.
Reply With Quote
  Old  January 22nd, 2003, 1:42pm     #38
hwnhrt is offline
hwnhrt
Sweeper
 
hwnhrt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 129
Location: "the hole in the wall"....Hawaii
gcomstock,

thanks for the info, i appreciate it. robo sounds like a good tool to use entering sweeps. I guess I'm so used to entering using the IE feature and am comfortable with doing it that way, guess I'll just stick to it.

You're right also in the fact that IP addys are tracked by most sweeps to keep people honest. I invest a good amount of time reading the rules to the sweeps I enter. I do that so I don't get anyone DQ'd. Per person,per addy, per household, per email are key words I look for and follow to the letter. Although I enter sweeps for 10 people, it doesn't necessarily mean all 10 will be entered into all that I do each day. One per household means just that. Everyone gets a turn each day. To me, this is the most important part of sweeping....read the rules first. I do it religiously.

I also created a system where I can track what sweeps I've entered, and who I entered and how many entries I did for each person. They are all my nieces and nephews and sisters and there hubbys. Just family. I have in my favorites special folders for the sweeps entered and another with just the rules. I also never start to enter any sweeps unless I have my daily "bible" where I note down what I entered and who I entered. I then use the info from that "bible" and put it in my file box where I have index cards #'d and filed so I can look up any sweep that I entered, who's entered and how many times. It took awhile for me to set up, but once I figured out what to do or how to do it, it's fairly easy for me to update.

Good luck in all your sweeps!
Aloha,
hwnhrt

"just another day in paradise..."
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 6th, 2003, 7:42pm     #39
happy sweeper is offline
happy sweeper
Master Sweeper
Founding Member
 
happy sweeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,822
Location: WV
Robo Identities
Has anyone else had problems with loosing their identies in the passcodes. When I check the file by right clicking the mouse they are in the folder but do not show up to fill & send. Can anyone help me. I emailed Roboform but they weren't any help.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 27th, 2003, 12:16pm     #40
ebargain is offline
ebargain
Junior Sweeper

 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Location: Pacific Northwest
Hi there - I'm new here, but I am using the FREE roboform and after 30 days use it reverts from the FULL version to the FREE version, which means it only lets you have three identities, less passcards, etc. HTH
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 31st, 2003, 9:07am     #41
teolson88 is offline
teolson88
Sweeper
 
teolson88's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 108
Location: Illinois
Has anyone had any computer trouble after downloading roboform? I have looked at it but haven't downloaded it yet. My computer is my baby and I am very careful about what I add to it.

Travis
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 31st, 2003, 9:28am     #42
mnsteph is offline
mnsteph
Grand Master Sweeper
Senior Editor
 
mnsteph's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 65,337
Location: Northern Minnesota
I had to take roboform out after installing it, my computer downstairs the fast one probably would have been OK with it, but the one networked upstairs that I had it on crashed , locked up, pretty much all that fun stuff...
But then I am running on a Pentium 233 upstairs ( a piece of " " )and Roboform seems to be a bit of a memory hog.
Oh well. If you have a good computer you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 31st, 2003, 9:29am     #43
jeanmarie is offline
jeanmarie
Master Sweeper
 
jeanmarie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,554
Location: richmond, va
I felt the same way, and loaded it on one of our extra (old) computers - did not have a problem, so I have since loaded it on my good machine, with no ill effects. Hope that is helpful. BTW - for comparison purposes, I am running a Toshiba Satellite Pro 4600 (not really a great machine) with WIndows 2000 OS.
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 31st, 2003, 2:26pm     #44
ajs1971 is offline
ajs1971
Senior Sweeper
 
ajs1971's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 466
Location: SE Michigan
Roboform versus Gator?
Hi all
I am a newbie. What is the difference between Roboform & Gator. I have been using Gator for years to fill in my forms. Does anyone know 1st hand the difference between the two?
Reply With Quote
  Old  March 31st, 2003, 2:36pm     #45
SSquared1980 is offline
SSquared1980
Master Sweeper
 
SSquared1980's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,462
Location: Central Virginia
Gator is a marketing software that tracks what sites you visit. It's called spyware. They use it to target popups to your interests. Personally, I don't appreciate companies tracking me so I removed it right away. From an IT standpoint - it interferes with log on scripts and prevents some pages from loading...

Roboform is not spyware and does not track what sites you visit. It's just a form filler. I use it all the time - otherwise I wouldn't have time to enter all the sweeps...

Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06am.