Old  May 6th, 2013, 7:25am     #1
LuckySkunky is offline
LuckySkunky
Gone Camping

 
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,878
Does anyone know about Amazon Mechanical Turk
I got an email saying I was approved for an account but I was hesitent to enter my SS# to complete the Amazon Payment account setup so I didn't finish with the setup.
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 6th, 2013, 9:41am     #2
Snowball is online now
Snowball
Senior Sweeper
Founding Member
 
Snowball's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 685
They won't put any money in your account to pay you without your Social. They need it for tax purposes.
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 6th, 2013, 12:03pm     #3
schnoodle is offline
schnoodle
Master Sweeper
 
schnoodle's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,834
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Phishing
Did you apply for an account? I'd find a customer service # for Amazon on their website. This https://www.mturk.com/mturk/help?hel...nsfer_earnings it does say you have to provide this but I wonder why - if you opt to have it deposited in your bank account the bank has your ssn for tax reporting purposes.


"It is man's sympathy with all creatures that first makes him truly a man. "
- Albert Schweitzer

My Wins
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 6th, 2013, 4:39pm     #4
Snowball is online now
Snowball
Senior Sweeper
Founding Member
 
Snowball's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 685
Amazon won't budge on this rule. They will freeze your Amazon payments account until they can verify your social.
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 6th, 2013, 6:37pm     #5
Inkyskeeper is offline
Inkyskeeper
Grand Master Sweeper
 
Inkyskeeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 12,940
Location: North East
its a job so yes SSN required

Already at over 32.000 points...won 25.000 a few days ago https://www.superpoints.com/join/AfySHwFdXsWdVjyK6ransDzR71A
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 6th, 2013, 7:53pm     #6
TheMarciFactor is offline
TheMarciFactor
Sweeper
 
TheMarciFactor's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 180
Location: East Texas
I tried it for a little while and the pay was very low. You spend a lot of time doing a lot of work for little pay.

I'm always willing to help, please send me your vote request if I missed you. Also, remember...I make fantastic jewelry www.marcimallow.com

Marci
Reply With Quote
  Old  May 6th, 2013, 9:02pm     #7
tealboom is offline
tealboom
Senior Sweeper

 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 428
Location: Indiana
I have an account, and I can verify what others have said. Yes, you have to enter your SSN. And yes, the pay is low. I actually got the best payouts from sticking with one company and applying for their advanced qualifications. I would get occasional bonus payments for the work I was doing.

However, at the end of the day I would spend hours to earn only cents. Not worth it in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10am.