PDA

View Full Version : 1099 question?

whiskeyguy
January 28th, 2008, 11:27am
I'm pretty new to this, and definitely new to the tax aspect of entering sweepstakes. The only prize that I won in 2007 had the ARV value of a little over $600. Now, I did receive the affidavit and was required to have it notarized and all that, but is this something that they would HAVE to report to the IRS or (if not) would be likely too? I have not received a 1099 from them yet, and while the taxes on $600 won't be a whole lot, I just want to know if I should wait to fill out my tax returns until I get it? Any advice would be helpful... like I said I'm pretty new at this. Thanks!

cgroverla
January 28th, 2008, 12:10pm
You do not have to wait for the 1099 to file your taxes. Put the value of your win on Line 21 of Form 1040 "other income" with the notation "sweepstakes win" or something similar to that.

barbs
January 28th, 2008, 12:25pm
Companies, by law, have until the 31st to mail out 1099's. I have rec'd some as late as the middle of Feb.

I'd just wait for a while.

(And you have to report all sweepstakes winnings, whether or not they send a 1099!)

retrobruce
January 28th, 2008, 12:47pm
Companies, by law, have until the 31st to mail out 1099's. I have rec'd some as late as the middle of Feb.

I'd just wait for a while.

(And you have to report all sweepstakes winnings, whether or not they send a 1099!)

This is important. A $100 win still needs to be reported. A $25 win still needs to be reported.

ALL wins need to be reported.

/your mileage may vary

cubhill
January 28th, 2008, 5:57pm
Does the 1099 come from the Company who sponsored the contest or does it come from the government? I also am waiting on a 1099 and the company that held the contest is in Canada. Thanks for any help.
Jo

caseycupcake
January 28th, 2008, 6:18pm