PDA

View Full Version : Harper Collins First Look...Anyone Winning/ Reading?

Jacklyn
January 27th, 2008, 4:58am
I am a voracious reader. House is wall to wall books. Just came across the Harper Collins contests....25 pre-release copies of books given to winners to read and then write a review. I have a Masters in English. I really wanted an excuse to read for a living...lol. I would really love to get in on this.

Has anyone ever won? What was your experience like?

LUCKYLADY43
January 27th, 2008, 5:24am
I Myself Love The Harry Potter Books And Stephen King. Darla

prklug
January 27th, 2008, 6:25am
Hi Jacklyn
Just wanted to say that the HC contests are very nice. I have won similar contests before and it is a lot of fun to be one of the earliest people to read a book. Guess that is why I review for an online book site now.

If you ever want to talk about reviewing with someone, PM me. I am always happy to talk about good books!

meganjoy2
January 27th, 2008, 7:22am
I've won the Harper-Collins contests several times. The books have usually been outstanding--particularly the last one, Bound by Sally Gunning. My only negative is that the second to last book I won arrived well after the time I was supposed to sumbit the review, but I think that was an oddity due to the Christmas holidays.

WriterKathy1
January 27th, 2008, 7:31am
Jacklyn:
I have never entered any of those sweepstakes, but I am a freelance book reviewer. I do get paid for reading :smile8: It is a great job.
You can PM me about it sometime if you'd like.

margmar59
January 27th, 2008, 8:00am
I have won 3 of their contest. My daughter is a reading teacher so I enter the children books for her all the time and have won it 3 times. I have entereed for the adults but only win the childrens.

Maddgiggler
January 27th, 2008, 1:37pm
I recently won and am in the middle of reading the book. My review is due next week. It's been a great experience.

Jacklyn
January 27th, 2008, 4:53pm