PDA

View Full Version : Winning lotto isnt all it's cracked up to be

chrissywins
August 19th, 2006, 10:46am
I'm a newbie sweeper who has already gotten her hopes up for the big win. It gets exciting filling out those entry forms doesn't it? I know I can't be alone! Lol...In any case, I ran into this article this morning which put it into a better perspective for me. I like the "dream" behind this all, but seeing the below just makes me appriciate the little I already have and keeps me in check that life won change tomorrow if I won something big. It's all about the dream though, keep plugging and getting a big surprise. Either way this is fun and a great new hobby for my free time. Figured I'd share this.......please respond with the FIRST thing you would do if you won big....I like the idea in the article...make a DFZ a decision free zone!

I'm also curious to find out more about taxes, how do you know how much will be taken out of a cash win or large win like a 1 mill dollar win? Anyone who knows more about the tax issues behind winning please feel free to share your expertise.

Unlucky lottery winners who lost their money
By Ellen Goodstein Bankrate.com

Is winning the lottery really a lucky event? Not if you lose the money, say experts and those who fleetingly had it all.

"Winning the lottery isn't always what it's cracked up to be," says Evelyn Adams, who won the New Jersey lottery not just once but twice (1985, 1986) to the tune of $5.4 million. Today, the money is gone and Adams lives in a trailer.

"I won the American dream but I lost it, too. It was a very hard fall. It's called rock bottom," says Adams. "Everybody wanted my money. Everybody had their hand out. I never learned one simple word in the English language -- 'No.' I wish I had the chance to do it all over again. I'd be much smarter about it now," says Adams, who also lost money at the slot machines in Atlantic City.