PDA

View Full Version : Scam?


DCNY
August 7th, 2002, 9:36am
Return-Path: <RxFree@toolcity.net>
Received: from rly-xd01.mx.aol.com (rly-xd01.mail.aol.com [172.20.105.166]) by air-xd01.mail.aol.com (v86_r1.16) with ESMTP id MAILINXD14-0807013859; Wed, 07 Aug 2002 01:38:58 -0400
Received: from wrench.toolcity.net (wrench.toolcity.net [208.0.188.2]) by rly-xd01.mx.aol.com (v86_r1.15) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXD18-0807013824; Wed, 07 Aug 2002 01:38:24 -0400
Received: from Kct (dap-63-169-101-37.meadville-tnt-1.pa.toolcity.net [63.169.101.37])
by wrench.toolcity.net (8.9.3/8.9.3) with SMTP id BAA29878
for <Dicych@aol.com>; Wed, 7 Aug 2002 01:37:57 -0400 (EDT)
Date: Wed, 7 Aug 2002 01:37:57 -0400 (EDT)
Message-Id: <200208070537.BAA29878@wrench.toolcity.net>
From: Suess2591 <Suess2591@aol.com>
To: Dicych@aol.com
Subject: Fw:Dicych,congratulations
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary=F35wVtX1Ij4jAnHp1E7W9e8T3078850gs3cJ
THIS IA A DOWNLOAD AND I DONT KNOW IF IT IS A SCAM
IT IS A FORWARD THE SUBJECT IS CONGRATULATIONS
I DONT KNOW IF I SHOULD OPEN IT
THESE ARE THE DETAILS OF THE EMAIL HELP PLEASE
:confused:

yadgirl
August 7th, 2002, 12:56pm
I did an online search for the e-mail address, and the sites I pulled varied immensely.. I think it's a Spam site.

http://www.toolcity.net/HomePage.html

Search results:
http://vivisimo.com/search?overRequest=2&query=wrench.toolcity.net&v%3Asources=Fast&v%3Asources=Yahoo&v%3Asources=MSN&v%3Asources=AOL&v%3Asources=Looksmart&v%3Asources=Netscape&num=200&language=all&showURL=1&showSummary=1&showOpener=1&showSe=1&showPreview=1&target=self&timeout=2000&filter=none&form=Settings&enablejs=&x=37&y=18

Known Spammers (did not pull up toolcity)
http://www.calfcreek.net/spammer.html

kc

littlebit870
August 7th, 2002, 4:44pm
DCNY,
If it were me I would never open it !!! Did you download to a floppy? Then Run virus scan on it? I sure would not download it to my hard drive thats for sure !!!!

Ms Dee Dee:confused:

DCNY
August 7th, 2002, 4:47pm
i didnt download it i am to afraid
i guess i will just delete it there was no message just the download so, i am guessing it is a scam thank you soooo much for your hepl

Kym
August 7th, 2002, 4:54pm
I've gotten a few of those with the title "Congratulations"

I wouldn't download it if I were you...just delete and fogettaboutit.

Katie Scarlet
August 7th, 2002, 8:18pm
I did a "whois" on the domain name "toolcity.net" and got this info --

Registrant:
Tool City (TOOLCITY-DOM)
105 Poplar Street
Erie, PA 16507
US

Domain Name: TOOLCITY.NET

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Stargate Industries Hostmaster (SIH-ORG) hostmaster@STARGATE.NET
Stargate Industries Inc
The Crane Building, Suite 300
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
US
412.316.7827
Fax- 412.316.7899

Record expires on 08-Aug-2005.
Record created on 07-Aug-1996.
Database last updated on 7-Aug-2002 20:11:15 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

SLAVE1.DNS.STARGATE.NET 209.166.160.45
SLAVE2.DNS.STARGATE.NET 209.166.160.46


Which eventually leads you to this site -

http://my.stargate.net/index.shtml

which looks like an internet provider, but has the same info listed as the toolcity.com "whois" search did. I would zip them off an email and inquire as to what they needed to congratulate you for!

Katie :)

DCNY
August 7th, 2002, 8:54pm
THANK YOU I SENT AN E-MAIL WE SHALL SEE
THATNKS AGAIN FOR YOUR HELP YOU ARE GREAT!!!!!!:D

yadgirl
August 9th, 2002, 12:59am
Toolcity is on the black hole list:

http://samspade.org/t/rbl?a=TOOLCITY.NET+

kc

DCNY
August 9th, 2002, 8:13am
I AM REALLY NEW AT THIS
WHAT IS THE BLACK HOLE LIST?

Sue
August 9th, 2002, 11:29am
kc, what's the significance of this report?

It looks as clean as my husband's work , www.online-sweepstakes.com , www.samspade.com , or www.spamcop.com to name a few sites that I'm reasonably sure are not considered spammers. I also checked some sites that are possible spam sites and they show a lot more information.

Is this report simply a list of websites you can check for their current status?

yadgirl
August 9th, 2002, 12:30pm
Most of the sites listed are known spam sites. Some ISP's subscribe to the list so that they can better filter junk mail.

http://www.spamhaus.org/SBL/sbl-faqs.lasso

kc

Sue
August 9th, 2002, 2:17pm
I'm confused. As near as I can tell, toolcop.com is clean on samspade.com


"TOOLCITY.NET resolves to 208.0.188.2

www.TOOLCITY.NET resolves to 208.0.188.2

...


208.0.188.2 not listed

208.0.188.2 not listed

208.0.188.2 not listed

..."



All the known or so-called spammers I checked including iwon.com and go.com had 1 or more blocks. It looked like the blocks for iwon.com and go.com were for not purging spammers from sending spam from their email boxes.


I agree that Toolcity sounds like a possible spam name.

DCNY
August 9th, 2002, 2:35pm
WOW THANKS
I DELETED IT I DONT KNOW A LOT ABOUT SWEEPING BUT, IT JUST DIDNT LOOK RIGHT TO ME
THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP YOU ARE A WONDERFUL GROUP OF PEOPLE;)